Homemade ricotta and adulting

I had some week-old milk not long ago that needed to be used before it went bad.  One groovy thing about raw milk is that when it starts getting a little funky, you can still turn it into something.  The homogenized/sterilized store milk, nope, no coming back from the putrid.

I didn’t get a photo of my ingredients, or of it on the stove.  I just bustled along, doing my thing.  I yoinked the recipe from somewhere a year or two back…  Just one gallon of whole milk, a quart of buttermilk, a cup of cream.  This was a half-batch, hence the small four-quart pot.  Heat to about 200*, pull off heat, let sit for 20-30 minutes, strain.
wp_20160913_010-2

See, straining!  At this point, it’s rather blah, to be honest.
wp_20160913_008-2

Until you mix in salt.  Then it becomes really, really yummy.  I have no idea how much salt I add, to be honest.  I just keep tossing in sprinkles, mixing, and tasting until I’m happy with it.
wp_20160913_012

And voila, little containers of fabulous ricotta ready to go.  It freezes quite lovely, too.  So I’m ready to make quiche or lasagna or whatever I feel like that may need ricotta.  It really does taste so much better than the store stuff, and it’s more tender, too.  Yum.
wp_20160913_013-2


On an entirely unrelated note, I hit Hastings recently.  Now that they’re going out of business, some of their books are actually affordable.  Go figure.  So I perused the “Blank for Dummies” section.  Those books aren’t exactly flying off the shelves, you know?  Score for me.  So many jobs nowadays are wanting someone with experience in QuickBooks.  Well, I don’t have that.  Yet.  It *will* happen.  Heck, back when I actually was working, PeachTree was the big program of the time.  I didn’t get to use it, but the place I worked did.  Anyway, these should keep me busy for a bit.
wp_20160913_023

Save

Leave a Reply

