Arnica is kind of funny looking

Every year when the plants first start popping up, I have a smidge of trouble identifying between my arnica and plantain.  When they first sprout up in the spring, they look awfully similar.  Once they start throwing flower stems, I have a better idea.

Arnica01

I harvest the flowers, dry the petals, and steep in olive oil to make my salve.  All this started out with just a few plants, maybe 2-3 plants.  Took a few years, but now they’ve taken over in the raised bed to where I need to start potting some up to sell.  Yeehaw!
Arnica02

Leave a Reply

