Fourth of July

Today’s harvest from the yard.  Plantain, dandelion, basil, oregano, peppermint, spearmint, chamomile, and baby apples.  So much for quiet before the heyday of harvest hits, not so much when you’re also doing herbage.  Wondering about the apples?  Yeah.  First, they’re from starting to thin the apple tree in the front yard.  Second, I’ve heard tales of people boiling down these little baby apples to make homemade pectin.  Guess what’s on my to-do list?  Yup.
Jul-4-harvest

See, various bags.  I labeled them, shoved things in them, and put the bags in the dehydrator.  We’ll see if it works.
Jul-4-harvest02

So I ended up with accidental ricotta the other day.  I had tried making a batch of mozzarella, on purpose, and a batch of sweet yogurt, on purpose.  Sigh.  Ah well, I guess at least I know how to improvise sometimes?  Mixed up some herbs and such with the ricotta, grated up some of my accidental mozzarella (trick is adding enough salt, I’m still working on that), and went to town making Lasagna Rolls.  So. freakin’. cool.  You know how cutting lasagna is kind of a pain in the ass?  Well, try making these.  Boom, easy serving portion, you just spoon out one at a time.  Reason I have so many?  I had a bunch of ricotta (remember?), and they freeze lovely.
lasagnarolls

It was also time to re-pot my aloe plants.  I got an extra (stuffed!) pot of aloe from my herb lady.  I need to get a bunch more little aloe plants going on for my herb class this coming year.  My little ones that had multiplied that I’d originally gotten from a friend had slowed down growth, so I figured the soil was exhausted, so I needed to mix in a bunch more compost into the pots to keep them happy.  Recently discovered/came up with the ice cube trick.  Absolutely love it, so easy, and the soil soaks it all up so there’s little to no water ending up in the bottom saucer to overflow.
aloerepotted

Leave a Reply

