The garden, she lives!

Okay, it’s a mess of a disaster out there, but hey, it’s there.  That’s what counts, right?

From left to right from my poor patio door.  The greenhouse is at the edge of the garden.  And you can see the aging raised beds, and the pile of bark ripped off this year’s firewood.  It shall become mulch.  Lots and lots of mulch.  Look out weeds, we may have ammunition here.
messyyard01

Middle.  Ish.  Naked maple tree towards the back, now-defunct cinderblock bed, and shed #2 waiting for more warm and sunny days to be finished.
messyyard02

To the right.  A mess of now-defunct asparagus beds.  Half died, I moved the blackberries from the other one…  Sigh.  This part of the yard shall become the “orchard” but it’s still in progress.
messyyard03

Ahem.  Raspberries.  I have my work cut out for me weeding and retaming this bit.  Hard to believe that 3-5 years ago these were just a dozen canes that hubby hadn’t hacked off with the weed whacker.  Moral of the story?  Pull up new shoots when you see them (and give/sell them away!), and mulch these things to death.  Like 3-4 inches of mulch is what I’m aiming for.  I absolutely detest weeding.
raspberries

Poor, sad grape vine.  I showed/came up with an idea of a trellis and a hammock, which hubby seemed interested in.  Apparently the answer is “always the hammock.”  So now I need to find a hammock it seems.
grape

Edge of our property.  10yo dug me these holes last year.  Was going to plant tayberries in pots, and put the pots here in the ground.  Because tayberries will take over the world, and I don’t want to piss off our neighbor.  Yes, I’m nice like that.
messyyard05

Side of shed #1.  The surviving thornless blackberries from the great planting spree of spring 2008 when I was trying to garden out the 5yo.  And the thyme that has taken over the world.  Still need to weed and mulch (inches of mulch!) this little section.  Maybe get some sort of easy trellis thing going on for the berries.  We shall see.
messyyard04

The strawberry bed.  This is what I started with.  Who knew that unraked leaves from being lazy in the fall would be a nice insulating layer for your strawberries?  The things you learn in my house of laziness and letting nature do it’s thing.  Btw, that’s a lot of weeds.
strawberrybefore01

Two days later and my very first sunburn-in-March, ta-da!  Lots and lots of little strawberry plants, just starting to perk up.  In there, I also planted garlic (because I forgot to do that in October, whoops), and after getting all the strawberries settled I planted some lettuces, arugula and spinach in here.  Just because.  Schitzo planting works, but it’s harder for me to keep track of things (even when I write it down!) because it’s just not as orderly.  And yes, I do need to keep track of what’s where, especially when I save my own seeds here and there.
strawberrybed01

I ended up needing to divide a bunch of strawberry plants.  I hadn’t been expecting that.  Only culled out a few dead crowns.  Luckily my neighbor was lovely enough to take the dozen or so strawberry plants I foisted upon her.  In all my dirted up glory (I definitely don’t wear nice clothes for gardening, yeesh).  But I think it looks pretty good.  Will be quite green in a few months.  Once my greens pop up, I’ll have to do another weeding, and then mulch this to death, too.  After putting on compost.  See how low the soil is here?  Haven’t added any since more than two kids ago.  The worms absolutely love my yard though, the kids can dig and find a worm pretty much anywhere, it’s wild.
strawberrybed02

Leave a Reply

