Canning season has begun with a vengeance

Farmer’s Market basket last weekend.  That’s a hefty sized basket, too.
marketbasket

Finally got photos printed up.  These colorful ones are up in the kids’ room.  They’re so cute, I may put up another photo shelf above this one to get more photos of them up there.
bedroomphoto

And the living room photos.  I’m pleased.  Might add a few more small ones if I find a decent deal on some smaller frames, but until then.  I finally got photos up on the wall!  That in itself is pretty awesome for non-decorator me.
livingroomphoto

We haven’t eaten at the table in two days.  ‘Tis the season.
canning01

My poor kitchen.  All kinds of busy and messy.  The floor’s already sticky, but I’m not going to make the kids clean/mop it until we’re done with all those peaches and tomatoes and nectarines.
canning02

In the midst of peaches.  Lots of peaches.  With tomatoes simmering on the stove.  All kinds of smells coming from my house.  😉
canning03

I actually got it tidied up at the end of last night.  Dirty jars still sealing over there in the far corner by the stove, giant Le Creuset pot simmering with tomato goo.  Cleaned out the sink, yay!  In the foreground is all the cleaned off jars (I scrub them all after they seal so there’s no sticky gunk in the pantry/basement), and the *giant* compost bowl from the day.  The 9yo gets to take it out in the morning for me.
canning04

We’ve been playing around with veggies lately because, well, we have a glut of them.  So from perusing Pinterest, this happened.
greenbeanbacon
That’s right, bacon wrapped green beans.  They are super yummy, and aside from the slight difficulty of wrapping them, not too hard.  Hubby grilled them out on our new grill, so as to not heat up the house.  I’m pulling out all kinds of grill recipes as of late, only thing I turn the stove on for is canning.
greenbeanbacon02

Grilled zucchini, again, on the grill.  Again, lots of veggies all over the house.
zucchini

Leave a Reply

