Blueberries and candle holders

Hit up a yard sale down the street.  Not quite sure what I’m going to do with the photo/peg thingie yet.  But, my total score?  Those candlestick holders!  I’ve been on the lookout for some for a while now, and they’re not exactly cheap from the Lehman’s catalog.  I found two sets that I liked, and a few random ones.  I really, really like the adorable brass and mother-of-pearl ones on the right there with my plain tapers.  So, so pretty.  And while I’m not really a fan of the gold/warm metals (I’m a platinum/silver/nickel kind of girl, as evidenced by all the light fixtures in my house), the light bounces off these holders quite nicely.  I got away with all this for a song though, so I was *so* thrilled.
yardsale

Last week a friend hooked me up.  Mine are all the ones in orange tones, the rest are friends.  Anywho, the big-ish kids got to test out roller coaster cars.  Talk about a fun day!  Certainly not something I ever got to do growing up, that’s for sure.  And you know the foam padding on parts of roller coaster cars?  We got some of the droppings from the molds – they look like crazy mushrooms, or just a pile of poo.  The kids thought it was so hilarious and fun.
coastertesting

Out on the coaster track.  Yes, my friend’s company does it *all*, so neat and amazing.  We plan  to take a more in-depth tour one of these days… likely when I can get someone to watch the 3yo and we can get it scheduled after all the fabrication guys are out of the building (so we don’t get hurt).
coastertracks

My haul from the day out with a friend.  We went blueberry picking with all our kids.  Discovered the best. blueberry. ever.  Spartan.  Seriously, it’s amazing.  I normally don’t eat fresh (or any) blueberries, but these?  I totally could.  Yum.
Then since my friend is kinda new to the area, we wandered off to a few more of my haunts since we were already in the van.  My elderly apple orchard folks, where we both got 5lbs of Lodi apples.  Then on to my other u-pick farm for veggies – cucumbers, zukes, cherry tomatoes, and a giant onion for braving the traffic. 
foodhaul

Yup, these blueberries were amazing.  Blueberry, cherry tomato, and my fat-fingered little hand.  Seriously impressive sized berries.
tomatoberry

Homestead Barn Hop!
Leave a Reply

