No idea what I’m going to do with chamomile blossoms, but I have ’em!

You know those people.  The ones with the perfect, pretty, organized gardens.  Nary a weed in sight, everything’s all cute and labeled and orderly.

I am so not one of those people.  Not even close.  I’m totally wingin’ it.  Haven’t really made a super valiant effort in the garden since I was pregnant with #3, just been too worn out and taking care of kids.  I’m still winging it.  But I think it’s getting better.  Slowly.  I’m still taken by surprise when the first frost hits, I’m just distracted with other stuff.  The garden is never cleaned out/fully weeded/ready to put to bed for the winter.  So, because I wing it and don’t have the tidy little garden, I get some fun surprises year after year. 

The backyard from left to right. 
Left.

Middle.

Right.

Especially from perennial/unkillable things.  Like my chives that just won’t die.  Seriously, I started with one single 4-inch pot of chives from Lowes or Home Depot like seven years ago.  I’ve divided and given away giant clumps, I’ve just composted some plants, and I still have tons!  It even survives in containers – pots that are just sitting on the concrete deck, in black pots, and almost never get watered.  These are some hardy plants, let me tell you. 
So this year I decided I’ll harvest the chive blossoms rather than let them all go to seed (again and again and again).  No idea what I’m going to do with the blossoms, but hey, one thing at a time.

It also seems my chamomile went and self-seeded last year.  Score!  Harvested a bunch of apple-scented chamomile blossoms.  Again, I can’t remember what I can use them for, but I have them.  They’ll get dehydrated somehow this week, I hope.

I think my boneset came back again, or was it horehound…  need to look that up.  Anyway, something that doesn’t look like a weed and that had a now-blank plastic label stick came back.  Looks like my arnica came back, and my one specific little plantain plant has also greened up.

Also have celery and parsley in their second year of growing, so they’re throwing stalks and going to set seed for me to collect later.  Seriously, I have like a pound of parsley seed, it loves my yard.  The leeks and broccoli that have survived are also throwing seeds again, and I still have shallots and garlic in a raised bed.  I need to weed that bed and separate the shallots and garlic so they can have fun growing, but who knows what I’ll get around to.

The raspberries are hell bent on world domination.  I’m hoping I can sucker a few local friends into coming and weeding and digging up the escapees to take home, I haven’t weeded/mulched that poor raspberry patch in years.  šŸ˜¦

The strawberries are trying so hard to set fruit, but the poor things are competing with weeds.  Hopefully I can get that taken care of this week, gotta wait for my sunburn from yesterday’s painting excursion to calm down.

The blackberries are attempting to make a comeback.  Just need to weed and mulch it really well, then possibly figure out some sort of edging something, or just get rid of the grass and turn the whole thing there into a walkway.

And as a teaser…

I’ve been working on a few things around the house, have like eight projects all up in the air at once.  This one is still in progress, but I’m hopeful it shall be finished soon.

2 thoughts on “No idea what I’m going to do with chamomile blossoms, but I have ’em!

Leave a Reply

