Freezer Cooking!

It all started with 80 pounds of chicken, then another 40 pounds.

I did manage to get it all trimmed and cut up the day I got it all, but then it took me a little over two weeks to get through all the prepping and assembling.  I’m not magical like some of those other blog moms.  I wasn’t going to try to totally stress myself out, I just went at my own pace.

I ended up with a bunch of meals.  Sorry, I haven’t counted all that well, and we’ve kind of started eating some of them.  Especially since it took me a good three weeks to finish/assemble everything what with the two deliveries of chicken I had.

Wanna see the recipes?

Cafe Rio Chicken, Garlic Lime Chicken, World’s Best Chicken.  Scroll down to #5, #6, #7.  ETA: Cafe Rio was okay, but not a favorite.
Crockpot Creamy Thyme Chicken.  ETA: Was okay, the sauce kind of separated from freezing.
Crockpot Asian Glazed Chicken.
Basalmic Mustard Chicken.
Maple Dijon Glazed Chicken.  Scroll down that link’s page for the recipe.  ETA: Good, but not a favorite of the kids’.
Chicken Cordon Bleu Casserole.  I cut up the chicken into bite size bits (four kids, I have to cut it up sooner or later), and you can totally sub in bacon for ham, depending on what you’ve got.  This recipe is freakin’ awesome – been making it for years.  Freezes lovely, there’s no cream of crap in it, and if you make enough of the cheesy stuff, there’s enough to throw on your fork with accompanying steamed broccoli or baked brown rice.

Chicken Florentine Casserole.  Yummy.  Needs a smidge more salt, and more cheese never really hurts anything.  And when doubling the recipe?  Use four 8″x8″ pans, not just three.  The pans were stuffed, and despite my bottomless pits, I still have leftovers.  Leftovers reheat decently in the microwave as well.
Parmesan Chicken Bake.  Does have mayo in it.  We’ll see how it works.
Pan Roasted Chicken and Potatoes from Saving Dinner by Leanne Ely.  We’ve had this over the years, but never frozen before (I had red potatoes that I desperately needed to do something with).  Hopefully it’ll turn out okay.  ETA:  It didn’t.  I kept hoping that since I’d mixed a few other things with the mayo that it’d turn out okay.  Nope, was an oily, gooey mess.  It’s a good recipe, just not a good freezer recipe.

Cheesy Chicken and Broccoli Foil Dinner.  Kinda time consuming what with all the packets (well, I did a double batch) and prepping different ingredients, but yum!!!  I cooked a little test batch from the leftovers from assembly in a little Pyrex food container (with no plastic lid, just used foil as a lid) for maybe 30 minutes until the chicken was done.  Yum.  I don’t have enough Pyrex for that, but I’m sure some folks do, so that could be an option instead of just foil.
I’m forseeing that I’ll be making these to have on hand if/when we go camping or on vacation (just because I *can* cook in a VRBO place doesn’t mean I *want* to be stuck in the kitchen all day!).  Might try making these in 8″x8″ pans next time, just need to bake for longer…

The Cheesy Chicken Broccoli Packets casserole style, much easier to assemble than a million foil packets.
Creamy Dijon Chicken.
Lemon Garlic Chicken.  ETA: Didn’t recover from freezing as well, the sauce separated.

Crockpot Feta and Bacon Stuffed Chicken.   Mmmm…  bacon…

Chicken Divan.  ETA: Need to add a little oomph to make this worthy of a 4×6 card in my recipe box.  But good.

Mini Chicken Pot Pies.  Fair warning.  Make the chicken mixture *before* mixing up the biscuit/muffin mix.  Otherwise they don’t look all adorable and domed like at OAMM, they look kinda…  weird.  Like these.  Still edible though.  Next time I might do what a friend mentioned and use broccoli/cheese instead of the peas/carrots.  That threw my kids for a loop, they’re used to just having their veggies straight, steamed, with a dash of salt.

Chicken Ranch Quesadillas.  Nothing fancy, just mixed up cooked/shredded chicken with some ranch and some random cheese I had on hand (mozzarella), threw down some cheddar on it, and heated until sorta melty.  Aka, so the shredded cheese didn’t make it three stories high and it was soft enough to cut without entirely shredding the tortilla.  Reheats well in the microwave or toaster (with a pan/foil under the quesadilla).

Two packages of ground chicken for Cashew Chicken Lettuce Wraps and two bags of Chicken Parmesan Meatloaf Muffins (I used almond flour instead of bread crumbs to make it a smidge more GF/paleo – bonus is that these suckers are now super full of protein and are nice and filling).  The Cashew Chicken is so yummy, and leftovers heat up amazingly well.  The Chicken Parmesan muffins are yummy, my whole family, including Grandma (and my elderly neighbor), liked ’em.  They may make occasional lunch appearances throughout the year.

Plain breasts ready to freeze for later use, and some cut up pieces that later went into a casserole pictured above. 

I’m aiming to update along the way with reviews as we fork and knife our way through it all. 


Homestead Barn Hop.

One thought on “Freezer Cooking!

Leave a Reply

