Apparently elves and water heaters don’t mix

Our silly elf Spot…  He has a bit of a sweet tooth apparently.

Hanging out on a twinkle garland.

Here’s the garland.  We still don’t have our tree up.  I just bought it the other day, it’s acclimating in the garage right now.

Our water heater went on the fritz.  Gas valve/ignition issues.

So hubby called up the company, again (if you remember, we had to entirely replace this sucker a few years back due to a leaky tank – and this is all under warranty, again).  They sent out the part asap after he told them exactly what was going on.  The guy asked him a few questions to the tune of “how do you know it’s this” and “are you sure it’s not that” and hubby’s response of “I’m a biomass engineer, I know what I’m talking about” seemed to work. 

This is the old part.  That plastic tube with the copper spike inside?  Totally full of buildup.  We have major lime and calcium in our water.  It just, is what it is.

Here’s the two parts – old and busted on the left, shiny and new on the right.

Hubby installed the new one, and we’ve had reliable hot water ever since.  Knock on wood that it stays working for at least several more years.  We certainly won’t be buying another water heater manufactured by this company again, that’s for sure.

Today’s experiment.  I’m making bread using all pantry ingredients.  Powdered milk (well, I reconstituted it last night), powdered honey, powdered butter, powdered eggs, flour, yeast, etc.  I could’ve even used water from the pantry as well, but since I currently *do* have running water figured I was fine on that end.   

We shall see how it turns out in a few hours.  I just need to rotate through/make use of my pantry goods, and making bread takes care of several of the items down there.

2 thoughts on “Apparently elves and water heaters don’t mix

  1. “I’m a biomass engineer, I know what I’m talking about”I got such a kick out of this!!!   I’m catching on blog today. Been too long since I read yours! How are you??

  2. @HennyPenne – Heh, I see you’ve been busy here.  🙂  I know, hubby’s a hoot.  I’m doing… okay.  Better than last year, better than the year before.  Slowly but surely.  I’m slowly starting to feel more normal, parts of the house are starting to be more organized.  Or at least having a home for things rather than homeless boxes of crap.  I need to be more on top of taking my vitamins/supplements, and have been slowly tweaking our nutrition.  Again, slowly but surely.

Leave a Reply

