Here is Spot the Elf.  He’s hanging from a hook above the tv here.

And here he is on the doorbell chime just inside the front door.

This is where he was today.

Silly Spot.

He found some of Daddy’s ski/winter goodies.

And then some hand-me-down slippers.

Those hand-me-down slippers?  Only part of it.  All this mess?  Clothing the kids aren’t currently wearing.  I stock up in sizes ahead when I get freebies from friends or screamin’ deals at consignment sales, whatever.  So I have 2T through 16 in these suckers, plus the current sizes in dressers upstairs.

Here they are all done being sorted and folded and put back together.  Still need a decent piece of real estate though, that’s the current conundrum I have.  I can’t just take them off to the storage unit because I’m perpetually digging in them every so often, and if they’re out of the house, I forget about them and what I *do* have.

I think this was a drill?  Or a fancy screwdriver?  Something that he kept trying to poke me with.

Another…. something?  Another drill maybe?

A goofy sign contraption the 8yo made.  To make sure kids wouldn’t play behind the recliner.  Sigh.

Okay, here’s the icing on the cake here. 
I found this photo on pinterest or something, and thought my boys would go bonkers.  Well, I was partly right. 

I didn’t have the time to construct something as pretty and perfect as this one, and kept telling the 8yo to wait until Grampa was here or the weekend when Daddy didn’t have to work (I have that whole pesky kid-caretaking and feeding and house cleaning thing to take care of throughout the majority of the day).
The 8yo decided that just wasn’t good enough.  So with my blessing, cardboard boxes, scissors and a roll of tape, he holed himself up in the laundry room (away from the prying eyes and fingers of the 22mo) and came out with this.

He is totally smitten, and I’m so proud of him.  He took the photo (just a photo!) and made it happen.
It’s not designer or totally perfect, but it’s perfectly his.  And really, they all have just as much fun with it as they would anything else. 

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

