Tagged by Laura.
The Rules:
1. I have to post these rules before I give you the facts.  (I don’t *have* to do anything… but I’ll let it be)
2. Each player starts with eight random facts/habits about themselves.
3.
People who are tagged need to write their own blog (about their eight
things) and post these rules. (**if you’re a non-blogger, you can email
them!)

4. At the end of your blog, you need to choose eight people to get tagged and list their names.
5. Don’t forget to leave them a comment telling them they’re tagged, and to read your blog.

1.  I like when the house is neat and picked up and such, but I can never keep it that way.  Drives me nuts.  We just have too much crap and not enough organization to have a place for it all.  I need “Clean Sweep” for the entire house; especially if they find us a babysitter for the kids.

2. I went on a hot air balloon in 2nd grade.  We were tethered to the ground so all I got to see was the top of the elementary school roof, but it was way cool.

3. I never really planned to be this much like my grandmothers, yet here I am.  My paternal grandma and grandpa (W) had a huge garden, canned like it was going out of style (I wish I had a photo of her fruit room – totally puts my pantry to shame), Grandpa ran his own lumber mill down the road on their land for a while before he retired, etc.  Other grandma (B) cooked and cooked and baked.  With 6 kids (5 of them boys), a husband and farm crew to feed, she knew how to put together a shindig.  I need to make her ham sandwich mix sometime soon, it wounds really yummy for some reason.  Now, I too, am debating the merits of a housecoat, am plotting how to find more canning jars, how to expand the garden, how to feed these boys, etc.  Oh, and I’m a sahm, too, and don’t really want to go back to the work force if I can help it (like they did!).

4. Line dried towels and sheets always remind me of Grandma W.  I smell them, and I’m instantly transported back to summers at her house where we ran through the laundry on the clothes (tied between two trees!), swimming in their pool, grabbing a crunchy towel from the cupboard in the bathroom, digging in the freezers for split pea soup, going with Grandpa to the dairy for milk and seeing the cows and the milking, riding the tractor, and so on.  I’m a little sad my kids won’t get that experience.  Related to this, my sister’s the same way – line dried stuff reminds her of Grandma W, too.

5. I don’t think I’m going to my 10-year high school reunion.  It’s in 2 weeks, and it looks like I’m the only one who’s gained weight.  Plus my sister and her boyfriend – who I haven’t met yet – are coming to visit that weekend, and she totally trumps people from 10 years ago.

6. Dh’s games drive me nuts.  Not that he plays them, but that they’re taking up three 6-foot bookshelves down in the basement.  And he never touches them.  I could draw pictures in the dust on them.  Argh.  Maybe at some point I’ll be able to get him to pack them into boxes or sell some.

7.  I have discovered a way to get rid of the pink gunk/mold on my white shower curtains.  Give them a really good wash or three in the washing machine with Biz and A&H, then leave on the clothesline outside for a few weeks in hot weather.  Seems like it all bakes out and you have a white shower curtain back again.

8.  I love that my mom saved some of mine and my sister’s old toys.  Like the Sarah dolls Grandma W bought for us from a friend/semi-neighbor of hers (named Sarah, hence the witty title of “Sarah dolls”) who made dolls.  Or the *cool* Little People from the early 80’s, not the fat weird plastic Little People of today.  And the blue sparkly Raleigh bike from 1983.  And the plastic pots and pans from 1981.  My kids have the same kind of fun with the same exact toys.  Granted, it’s probably louder and more boisterous fun from them than what my sister and I did, but still.

As for tagging other, I pick… you!  Yes, I’ll add names when I see who’s visited, I’m evil like that. 

Leave a Reply

