I’m tired.  And sunburnt.  Again.

While I’m waiting for the dishwasher to finish it’s rinse so I can set it to start a wash at 4am, here’s some fun.  Which also proves that I am certifiable.

10 pounds of Lambert cherries.  I like these ones, they’re sweet.

3 pounds of Van cherries.  Dh likes these, they’re more tart.  Picking cherries doesn’t take near as long as strawberries.  In case you wanted to know. 

Almost 10 pounds of raspberries.  And a few black raspberries.  Those were mean.  The vines of the black raspberries were a cross between a raspberry cane and a rose bush out for blood.  I wish I were kidding.

Crushed raspberries.

Getting stuff measured and ready.

Yeah.  More counter space or just a better laid out kitchen would be nice.  *sigh*  At least I have a kitchen.

See anything missing?

Care to take a guess?

Yes, that’s right.  I shattered a jar.  A quart sized jar.  Well, technically the bottom just fell off and all the cherries and syrup went into the water bath.  Good times.  Doesn’t hurt that I had a major hissy fit, both boys were clamoring for my attention, I couldn’t find dh to watch said hellions, and my poor mom drove up right around then.  Ugh.

Second batch of cherries in the canner, raspberry jam in progress.

Raspberry jam.

Cherries and more raspberry jam.

I’m tired.

10 thoughts on “

  1. I bet you are tired, that’s SO much work!!  I’d like to make some raspberry jam but don’t know if I’ll get around to it….I need more jars! 

  2. rawk on mama!!! today I hav some blackberies in the fridge I”m making. I’m going to make a compote b/c I’m not a jelly girl and I’ve yet to find a good nonsugary recipe for fruit spread. (any chance you got one?)my mought is watering for cherries now… YUM! i love cherries!!!

  3. I made the blackberries and some blueberry “mush” as we call it. I just dumped them in a pot with sugar and cooked thm down a bit and added flour to thicken… I wonder if this would can well? I’m not sure much about canning as I’ve only done regular jelly and some peaches and pears. (half of which spoiled!) anyhow the mush is SO good to be used like jelly/jam or on waffles as pie filliing… cobblers or on ice cream. I’m also using it to mix in with plain yogurt and on oatmeal. half is in my freezer and I plan on getting more as soon as I se them at the farmers stop again.do you happen to know off hand why Jelly is so easily canned? I mean I know you dont have to water bath it or anyting, but why? I’m curious is I just tried to quick can (like the jelly) blackberry much minus the flour if it would work or just spoil. any ideas? I wasn’t sure if the pectin/sure jell had anything to do with this… or even if I could jut quick can the cooked down berries with no sugar? (like fruit spread kinda)you need to start a website called “Ask Aunt Lanna” πŸ˜‰ I would be there ALL of the time!

  4. I made the blackberries and some blueberry “mush” as we call it. I just dumped them in a pot with sugar and cooked thm down a bit and added flour to thicken… I wonder if this would can well? I’m not sure much about canning as I’ve only done regular jelly and some peaches and pears. (half of which spoiled!) anyhow the mush is SO good to be used like jelly/jam or on waffles as pie filliing… cobblers or on ice cream. I’m also using it to mix in with plain yogurt and on oatmeal. half is in my freezer and I plan on getting more as soon as I se them at the farmers stop again.do you happen to know off hand why Jelly is so easily canned? I mean I know you dont have to water bath it or anyting, but why? I’m curious is I just tried to quick can (like the jelly) blackberry much minus the flour if it would work or just spoil. any ideas? I wasn’t sure if the pectin/sure jell had anything to do with this… or even if I could jut quick can the cooked down berries with no sugar? (like fruit spread kinda)you need to start a website called “Ask Aunt Lanna” πŸ˜‰ I would be there ALL of the time!

  5. I learned something valuable this week… blueberries are SWEET! blackberries, though yummy, are not all that sweet which is fine… but when I freeze them I wanted to cook them into mush and add a bit of sugar so they wont be bitter when I thaw them. anyow I di the same with blueberries and now it tastes like candy! (good but a little much!) and so today I tried it with like 1-2 tbsp of sugar and it is plenty sweet!

Leave a Reply

