You know how when you’re sick the house kinda falls apart?
And the kids are lucky they get more than 2 clean diapers on their butts and they and the hubby are fed leftovers?
Yeah.  Cleaning up the aftermath isn’t all that fun.  Too many dishes.  Huge backlog of laundry (although, really, most of it’s from before I got sick).  Piles accumulated on the dining table and kitchen counters again.  Argh.

I’m still coughing up those yummy phlegm nuggets, but my throat doesn’t feel as raw.  Totally wish I had a Starbucks a block away from me though (closest one is 1.5mi away – right across the street from dh’s work which really isn’t fair).

Moving on.  Doing frugal meal planning and pantry challenge still.

Turns out the 3yo really likes instant oatmeal.  Luckily we’re still just on the very first (and possibly only!) box we’ve ever bought.  Today I think I’m going to try mixing up some homemade Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal Mix for the boy, I just need to track down some diced, dried apples (or figure out how to do it myself).  Now I’m totally kicking myself for not stocking up on more Quaker Instant Oatmeal when it was on sale at Albertson’s.  I got a handful of the 42oz canisters for $1/each (normally $2.89, or $1.98 for the generic).  No coupons, just on sale with the Albertson’s card.  So I may be tracking down some coupons and praying for a sale in the next few weeks.
Because when a 3yo asks for oatmeal and applesauce for lunch?  I’m not saying no.

I also want to try to mix up and bake some granola bars.  Was going to just toss the rolled oats from the basement because I got them for some random reason years ago, but never got around to it.  Well, now I found a use for them.  Yay!  Now if I can find a use for all my stewed tomatoes and the random cous-cous, I’ll be super proud of myself.

5 thoughts on “

  1. I buy quick oats in bulk, and make oatmeal with it instead of water.  Throw in some raisins, a little cinnamon, and serve with milk….The kids ask for it every morning!
    Hope you run out of phlegm nuggets soon!

  2. I am loving you for this recipe!! Well, I love you for more than that but you know what I mean! Abs love apple cinnamon oatmeal and I cringe giving her the commercial stuff. Not that I am that snobby, but it’s expensive!
    Glad you are starting to feel better but sorry about the big mess. Dh told me today that hos throat is getting sore…greeeeat. I don’t mean to be insensitive, but that means my house will be like yours by the end of the week. Lol…
    When you have success with the homemade granola bars, do tell! I love your recipes.

  3. You can mix cous cous into salads. I like to put it in soups to make it heartier, as well. Wish I had more…but that’s all, LOL!Tomatoes, black beans, some chilis, some garlic, maybe some red pepper, some rice in a skillet — heat and serve ….quick and dirty and healthy mid-week meal.

  4. though you and have different dietary habits in a lot of ways (milk/fructose allergies and such) I think you are such a good influence on me! if you can cook with two toddlers around I should have no problem ;)how about using the tomatoes in chili?

Leave a Reply

