Nothing exciting here.  Still in my pajamas. 
Doing laundry today.  Lots of laundry.  3 loads washed, 1 that needs to be folded so far, and 3-4 more loads I still need to wash.
Am doing a little house cleaning because my family’s supposedly coming up here tomorrow unless Dad drops concrete slabs on my sister and maims her.  I only do really good at housework when we have company, which is probably why I encourage visitors.  I like a clean-ish house, but I swear I’m half-slob.

Got a hide-a-bed couch from a friend that’s moving.  Tried a slipcover on it because ivory and pink flowers just aren’t dh’s idea of good decorating (mine either, really).  So it was slipcover attempt #1.  Need to try and find a smaller one I think, or try tucking back fabric when the kiddos are asleep.

Shopping for the next few months of clothes for the kiddos.  Just need to do one online order, and I think we’re good for a while.  Granted, I’m using the same clothes for ds2 that ds1 had, but between the different seasons and different growing patterns, I need to fill in the blanks a little.  I’m also ordering a few bigger sized things for ds1 while they’re on clearance now so I don’t have to buy much in the spring.  Consignment shops are a really great idea, unless you’re me.  With my toddler.  So anyway…

They’ve been burning fields across the highway.  My allergies haven’t been acting up too much, but my inhaler has been getting some use.

Got my 2007 Ikea catalog last week.  Promptly (almost) locked myself in the bathroom with ds2 to pore over it.  Ds1 had to periodically come in and check on me and tickle ds2 in the bassinet, but still.  Redoing our kitchen with Ikea cabinets would actually make the kitchen remodel doable sooner than if we bought the cabinets locally for 3-4 times the price.  Well, price-wise at any rate.

Been mostly tv-free for a few days now.  Watched almost 2 episodes of Fry (Futurama) yesterday before nap and bedtimes.  Well, and I watched some of the news and Leno last night as I was sitting on the bed checking email and folding diapers and such.  Ds1 has been outside playing in the yard for the majority of today, and I’ve been flitting around tending to the kids.  Might turn on the radio in a little bit though.  When I close the doors/windows it’s eerily quiet in the house (right now they’re building a house across the way so the machines make a lot of squeaky rumbly noise).

Garden run down….
Grapes are turning purple!  They’re actually getting closer to ripening!
Zucchini’s still coming out, a little slower than before.
Basil’s slowly rebounding from me decimating it.
Tomatoes are starting to ripen.  Need to pick more tonight.
Strawberries have started their second ripening.
Beans are still going nuts.  Need to go pick more tonight.
Cucumbers are a little slower than they used to be.
Green peppers – have a few left we need to pick and use up, but those plants are pretty much done by now.
Apples… well, we didn’t get the Tangle Trap out there this year, so most of them have worm holes and fun stuff like that.
Apricots – I haven’t checked them lately, I need to.
Plums – after the first frost I get to go harass some folks a few streets over because they’ve got two giant plum trees and they never use them all.  Met a guy that lives there a while ago on a walk with the kiddos.


Today after ds2 had a major fit/tantrum, I asked ds1 to go get the snot-sucker that’s up in the drawer in my bedside table.  He goes up there, opens the drawer, whines, and comes back downstairs all upset.  I tell him it’s right in my drawer.  He checks again.  Gets more upset.  Comes back downstairs to the living room, then continues on to the den.  A minute later he reappears up the stairs.  With a Tootsie Pop in his hand and a giant grin.  “Sucker! Sucker!”  With a flourish he whips off the wrapper and starts licking away.  Oy.


Hey, does a carrot cake still work fine if you add zucchini to it?

3 thoughts on “

  1. Carrot cake – carrot + zucchini = tasty zucchini cake
    My fav zuke canning recipe
    Zucchini Marmalade2 pounds grated zucchini (leave the skin on)juice of 2 lemons 1 teaspoon grated lemon zest1-14 oz. can crushed pineapple (drained)1 package regular certo crystals5 cups sugar2 tablespoons crystallized ginger (finely minced)Place zucchini in a pot and add lemon juice, lemon rind and pineapple. bring to a boil and simmer for 15 minutes.
    Add the certo crystals and stir until it comes to a boil. Stir in sugar and ginger. Bring to a full rolling boil and boil hard for 1 minute.
    Remove from heat and stir and skim with a metal spoon for 5 minutes. Pack in sterile jars with sterilized new rings and lids.
    Cool completely and check to make sure all the jars are properly sealed.
    Any that aren’t can be refrigerated and used within 2 – 3 weeks.

  2. I do my best reading in the bathroom, too. 
    Have fun cleaning.  Visitors are the only reason our basement ever gets cleaned – it’s where the guestroom and bathroom are.

Leave a Reply

