Been reading several books on living simply and such.

We’re actually not doing too bad in that regard.  We’ve already agreed that the kids will only have one, maybe two activities a season (not five or six, we like our sanity thank-you-very-much), we don’t plan on buying a cell phone or pager at any point in the near future, plan on homeschooling (so we’ll have more family time!), etc.  Sometimes it’s nice when people can’t reach you.  And I definitely use our answering machine.  I can stand there listening to the message, and not pick up if I don’t want to.  I can always say I was taking a shower or changing poopy diapers or something. 

Anyway…  I think the main thing I want to concentrate on is getting rid of clutter and all the other various crap around the house.  MIL’s going to ‘gift’ us a bunch of boxes of books (and other random stuff I’m sure) when she moves.  I need to bring up some of my mementos and such from my parents’ house before my dad goes nuts and throws everything out.  Granted, most of it should find a new home, but I would like to keep a few things.  Or at least take pictures of a few things before getting rid of them.

I finally caught ds2’s dimples!
Of course he looks like a crazed lunatic in this one, but he’s still cute.


A more normal smile:




Have I mentioned that I Alton Brown?


Chocolate Waffles
7 ounces all-purpose flour, approximately 1 1/2 cups
1 3/4 ounces sugar, approximately 3 tablespoons
1.5 ounces cocoa powder, approximately 1/2 cup
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
3 whole eggs, beaten
2 ounces unsalted butter, melted and slightly cooled
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
16 ounces buttermilk, room temperature
4 ounces chocolate chips, approximately 3/4 cup
Vegetable spray, for waffle iron

1) Preheat waffle iron according to manufacturer’s directions.
In a medium bowl whisk together the flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking powder, salt, and baking soda. In another bowl beat together the eggs and melted butter and vanilla, and then add the buttermilk. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and stir in the chocolate chips just until combined. Allow to rest for 5 minutes.
2) Ladle the recommended amount of waffle batter onto the center of the iron. Close the iron top and cook until the waffle is crispy on both sides and is easily removed from iron. Serve immediately or keep warm in a 200 degree F oven until ready to serve.


* I used a few more tablespoons of flour so it wouldn’t be so goopy, and used mini chocolate chips instead of regular.  They reheat in the toaster pretty well, too. 



ETA: The waffles are yummy fresh, by themselves, or with vanilla ice cream.   (since there’s no yummy smiley here)

2 thoughts on “

  1. Awwww, I the dimples!
    Those waffles look sooooo good!  Do you serve them plain?  What do you put on them?

  2. you know… you *could* use whole wheat flour or half whole wheat half oat flour (or oatmeal) and it would make it yummy AND healthy hehethey lok sooo good I’m drooling. seriously. as far as simple living I’m all nto it too. good stuff. in MDC tribal area we have a thread. join! (I’m hennypenny – how creative of me eh?) I just got two REALLY good books!one is “voluntary simplicity”I forget the other name I’ll let you know later. i love them.

Leave a Reply

